In this chapter we discuss one of the most fascinating and engaging cities of the lower Padua area, which still preserves its town walls: Este.
At the foot of the Euganean Hills we cross the massive walls of Este, the ancient Ateste, chosen by the enthusiasts of Paleoveneto to found a new and flourishing civilization which, thanks to trade with the Greeks, the Romans and the various nearby populations, had an increasing ascent. Later the Este family, who took the name from the city, erected the first fortification in 1056, rebuilt later by Umberto da Carrara in 1340 and finally extended by the Venetians in the fifteenth century.
Crossing the mighty walls, which defend this corner of paradise, we find ourselves among the inevitable and characteristic porticoed streets, ancient churches and palaces, including the sixteenth century Palazzo Mocenigo, where inside is located the Atestino National Museum with its exceptional archaeological pre-Roman collection.
Worth seeing is the Carrarese Castle, even if little of the ancient original structure remains after the passage of Ezzelino III da Romano. Despite this, it’s still the main attraction of the town.
The Church of Santa Tecla, built starting from 1690 on the remains of an ancient church destroyed by a terrible earthquake, is located in the square of the same name and preserves inside, in the main altar, the altarpiece by Giovanni Battista Tiepolo and, in the Chapel of the Holiest Sacrament on the right of the presbytery, there’s the “Triumph of the Eucharist” Baroque masterpiece by Antonio Corradini.
Villa Albrizzi was restored in the nineteenth century and is remembered because in the summer of 1961, Bruce Chatwin stayed here, among the most famous names of the twentieth century travel literature.