Sesto Dolomites

In this chapter we discuss the wonderful Sesto Dolomites, one of the most enchanting areas visited by mountain lovers and more.

The Sesto Dolomites, located between the provinces of Belluno and Bolzano, take their name from the pretty village of Sesto, nestled just north-east of this surprising mountain range, whose highest peak is the Punta dei Tre Scarperi di 3152 meters. This unmistakable mountain group is located in a rather vast territory, in fact, it runs along the borders with Austria up to the valley of the Piave, from the Val di Landro to the Val Pusteria.

The Sesto Dolomites are UNESCO's natural world heritage thanks to a magical and surprising territory, whose biodiversity has formed true works of art that stand out among the great forests and green valleys. Organize your holidays among these mountain groups, the various population centers and the different locations offer, during the summer, a wide range of outdoor activities, such as hiking, climbing, mountain biking, horseback riding and much more, along the easy cycle paths at the bottom of the valley or higher on the mountain huts between the Dolomite passes.

During the winter, however, you can find many resorts equipped with ski lifts for skiing and snowboarding, hundreds of kilometers of slopes prepared for both cross-country skiing, both for easy walks or snowshoeing on the snow. Below we will try to show you the wonderful mountain groups that are located in the Veneto region and those that go beyond the borders slightly, given the majesty and the difficulty of managing these gigantic natural works of art.

The group of the Tre Cime di Lavaredo, the Monte Piana Group, the Cadini di Misurina, the Gruppo del Monte Paterno, the Gruppo della Croda dei Toni, the Gruppo del Popera, the Rondoi- Baranci and the Gruppo dei Tre Scarperi. The most precious jewels of the entire territory of Sesto and also the most popular tourist area are the Tre Cime di Lavaredo, which with its unmistakable profile recognized all over the world have always been a destination for daring climbs and easy excursions.

We have divided the Sesto Dolomites into the following chapters:

Tre Cime Di Lavaredo - The Sesto Dolomites

Tre Cime di Lavaredo

The Tre Cime di Lavaredo Group, located along the border line between the province of Belluno, are the symbol of the Dolomites UNESCO World Heritage Site and are considered among the most famous natural wonders in the world. Looking from the north, they vaguely resemble three fingers   Continue...

Cadini di Misurina - Sesto Dolomites

Cadini di Misurina

The Cadini di Misurina, located between Cortina d'Ampezzo, Auronzo di Cadore and the Tre Cime di Lavaredo, overlook the beautiful waters of Lake Misurina in the province of Belluno. The term Cadini derives from the term cadorino "ciadìn", which can be translated   Continue...

Croda dei Toni Group - Sesto Dolomites

Croda dei Toni

The Croda dei Toni Group, a complex mountain group consisting of several elevations, is located along the border between the Veneto region and Trentino-Alto Adige, between the Tre Cime di Lavaredo, Paterno Mount and the Gruppo del Popera.   Continue...

The Popera Group - Sesto Dolomites

The Popera Group

The Popera Group is a small mountain group of the Alps which is located after the Croda dei Toni Group, on the border between the province of Belluno and that of Bolzano. The SOIUSA subdivides it into: subgroup of Cima Undici  Continue...

Are you looking for something else near here ???